AGM Minutes 27 March 2013


1.     Welcome and apologies

The Chairman welcomed and thanked everyone who had attended the meeting.   Apologies had been received from Barry Jones, Anke Esterhuizen, Judi Brown, Bernard Oberholzer, Pamela Trevelyan, Sarah James, Di Parker, Richard Thompson, Ian Wilson, Peter Bysshe, Ian Hunter and Rob Fryer

2.      Confirmation of a quorum

As a total of eighteen members were present, this constituted a quorum and the meeting could proceed.

 3.     Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 29th March, 2012.

 Acceptance of the minutes was proposed by Guy Whittle and seconded by Bea Whittaker.

4.     Agenda

Approval of the agenda was proposed by Lindsay Frith and seconded by Mike Murray.

5.      Chairman’s Report

Martin Ranger presented the Chairman’s report (attached). Its adoption was unanimously agreed.

In discussion of the report;

  • Bea Whittaker reported that Overstrand Municipality had won R3,5 million for the Greener Town award, and it had been proposed that the whole amount should be allocated to Stanford’s Community Centre development.
  • Further, Basil Whittaker noted that water cabbage is spreading on the river, and the new committee will need to attend to this.

6.     Audited Financial Statements for the Year ended 28th February 2013

Martin Ranger, as Treasurer, presented the financial statements, which were adopted unanimously.

7.     Budget 2013-14

Martin Ranger presented the budget for the forthcoming year. In discussion:

  • Martin explained that it had been decided to set membership fees at zero, to      increase membership, particularly in the broader community which would be a challenge for the new committee.
  • Mike Murray noted that the community should be involved in plans to develop the      Wandelpad.
  • Martin Ranger noted that the budget, as approved at this meeting is a guide for the new committee, along with the Constitution and the Minutes of this meeting

 8.    Appointment of Auditors

Martin proposed, and it was accepted unanimously, that Adams, Schouw Cain be appointed as Auditors. He thanked Ian Hunter for his assistance in reviewing the accounts.

9.     Proposed Constitutional amendments

Martin led the meeting through proposed amendments to Clauses 1, 7, 7.1.5, 7.6, 8.1, 8.4.2, 8.9.1 and 8.9.3. All amendments were agreed unanimously.

Basil Whittaker felt that the minimum of 3 members per subcommittee should be reduced. It was noted that this change would require due process prior to a special or annual general meeting.

10.   Consideration of proposals/motions received

No motions were received.

11.     Election of the Management Committee

Martin reported that Mike Murray and Dorothy Duval had resigned from the committee.

The following had been nominated and seconded and were eligible to stand:

Hester Venter

Lindsay Frith

Royd Frith

Keith Brown

Basil Whittaker

Bob Hadley

Mike Paddick

The election of all these people to the management committee was agreed unanimously.

11.  Any Other Business

In response to a point raised by Basil Whittaker, it was noted that a proposal for the Green Team to make garbage bag holders from wood for sale should be considered by the incoming committee.

  • It was agreed that the Conservation Trust should manage the upgrade of the Market Square.
  • It was noted that various signs on the Wandelpad need replacing or repairing.
  • It was suggested that creative ways of reaching potential members in the broader community should be developed by the incoming committee.
  • Bea Whittaker noted the recent passing of David Evans, a founder of the SCT, and requested that a letter of condolence be sent to his widow.

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 19h24..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *