The Heritage Committee consists of local architects and residents who have the compassion to preserve Stanford’s lovely old buildings, and make sure that alterations, renovations, additions and new dwellings remain within what is lovingly known as the “Stanford Style”. They meet every second week to scrutinise building plans, and advise the municipality on whether to approve the plans, or request changes as proposed by the committee.
Various initiatives have launched to assist residents and visitors to understand and appreciate Stanford’s rich cultural heritage, and to continue to protect this proclaimed architectural heritage area.
Stanford Style booklet (Available HERE)
This Stanford Style booklet* gives an overview of the types of building styles found in Stanford. The booklet details how the restoration of or alterations to old buildings should be undertaken, specifically in the conservation area of Stanford. The design for new buildings in this protected area should also follow these guidelines.
Heritage walk (add picture of booklet + numbers (tiles) on houses + other photographs)
The Historical Stanford on Foot booklet* gives interesting background information on the people that used to lived (or still live!) in each dwelling. Each house is numbered and the corresponding number in the booklet makes it a wonderful way to do a self-guided walk through the village. Add to this a map and some background information on the establishment of Stanford, and you will understand why Stanford Conservation and its members are so passionate about protecting its architectural heritage.
Restoration of the St Thomas Anglican Church (add photographs)
St Thomas proudly sits on the corner of Stanford’s heart – the commonage, or the “market square” as it is referred to by Stanford residents. It the oldest church in Stanford and was built around 1880. The small building next to the church served as the St Thomas Mission School. By 1914 the school had two classrooms and more space was needed. In 1939 the school was moved to the present site of Die Bron primary school in Stanford South. The building was still used as two classrooms for Sub A &B until 1983.
Weather and a lack of funds took its toll on the building over the years, and by 2008 the church needed urgent restoration*. As the guardian of Stanford’s architectural heritage, the Heritage Committee was extremely concerned about the rapid degradation of the church building. After speaking to the church elders and obtaining their permission, it was agreed that the Heritage Committee could assist with the restoration of the church – in whatever way possible. The result was a detailed funding proposal* to the Rowland and Leta Hill Trust, channelled via Stanford Conservation. R80 000 was granted for the restoration, which started in May 2009 and was completed within a year. Most of the work was done by church members, whilst many residents and organisations further contributed to the restoration fund. The result was that even the interior of the church could be renovated. In April 2010 a thanksgiving ceremony* was held by the congregation to pay tribute to everyone involved in the project.
Stanford’s 150 year celebrations – 2007
Stanford celebrated its 150th year of existence in 2007. The Heritage Committee organised a stunning programme* from 5 – 7 October. Highlights of the weekend were talks by Fabio Todeschini, Gawie Fagan and local architect Deon Krige (who present his sketches on Stanford*). To celebrate this memorable event a local resident, Annelize Mouton, also published a stunning coffee table book*on Stanford’s history and of Stanford’s residents in 2007.
The committee is also involved in providing the Overstrand Municipality with comments and guidance on processes such as signage bylaws, the Overstrand Zoning Document and the grading of historical buildings in Stanford.
* These will all be links to more detailed information on each subject